Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Dewey Martin

Posted by alanm 
Dewey Martin
August 02, 2005 04:33PM
I did a search for actor Dewey Martin on this bulletin board and was surprised to come up with only one mention for one of Peggy Lee's husbands. I am no expert on how often Dewey Martin's movies are shown on cable channels like TCM. But, one of his lesser known movies is on TV next week.

"Tennessee Champ" (1954) with Shelley Winters, Keenan Wynn and Dewey Martin will be shown on TCM 8/8/05 at 8 AM (ET). Martin plays a young boxer.

The young Dewey Martin was extremely handsome, even by Hollywood standards. He was just a fair to average actor if my memory is correct.

Anyone know what happened to him? Is he still alive?
Re: Dewey Martin
August 03, 2005 02:11AM
The IMDb site gives his date of birth as 8 December 1923. His marriage to Peggy Lee is shown as 1956 and divorced in 1958.

They do not show an expiry date so presumably he is still alive.

Bob Wallace.
August 03, 2005 02:09PM
Hi Alan!

At TCM they sometimes send a musical-comedy from 1957 with Dewey Martin and Dean Martin and some beautiful Italian actresses. The title on this movie is "Ten Thousand Bedrooms."

I also have seen him in a Science Fiction movie with title: "The Thing From Other Space." from 1951.

Dewey was a very good and stylish actor.

I think he is looking at his movies even today.

Jarl
Iv
August 04, 2005 04:00PM
Weirdly enough, I thought that he had passed away... Maybe I was confusing him with Peggy's second husband (Brad Dexter), who has indeed passed away.